Due to a combination of studying for my exams and chipping away at A Dance With Dragons by George. R.R Martin, reading has become an absolute chore for me. It’s been a while since I’ve sat down and thoroughly enjoyed something I’ve read, to the point where I wish my eyes could move quicker to satisfy my mind’s hunger for the next sentence. So, last night, I took some time out to return to a series I enjoyed throughout college.

Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series is one of my favourite fictional worlds. I can’t express how comforting it was to be able to pick up a series after so long and to escape into another place that stayed exactly the same while so much in my physical life has changed. All the characters looked exactly the way they did when I first met them three years ago and I’m not ashamed to admit some of them feel like old friends. I prefer fictional characters to many people I actually know.

I anticipated that I’d be passionate about Jace Wayland, who exists in a variety of ways in my own bedroom. As expected, I was. His relationship with Clary always makes me cry. I’m still unsure as to whether my Jace fix has been fulfilled, or whether another character has actually stolen a lot of my attention. After four books, I have finally found my appreciation for immortal Warlock, Magnus Bane. As a character who is extremely resplendent, I always found his presence in the books to be a little frivolous and more than overbearing, I failed to understand my best friend’s attachment to him

City of Fallen Angels however changed all that for me.

Magnus is a bisexual immortal Warlock who is currently in a relationship with Shadowhunter Alec, who is very much mortal. Though their relationship has been a pleasant read, it was a superfluous aspect of the series. In the latest installment, the reality [and I am aware that’s not the best phrase to use] of the imbalance of the relationship dawns on Alec. When he dies, Magnus will move on and love another.

And I believe that’s a deep fear the resides in most people, the fear that love like most things, doesn’t last. Nothing exists in its purest form. It could easily be argued that the older I get, the more of a defeatist I become. Yet, Magnus Bane of The Mortal Instruments series made the wistful pre-teen in me resurface again last night. I don’t think I could be any more grateful.

“Alex- Alec. If I gave you the impression I had accepted the idea of your death I can only apologize. I tried to, I thought I had – and yet still I pictured having you for fifty, sixty more years. I thought I might be ready to let you go. But it’s you, and I realize now that I won’t be any more ready to lose you than I am right now.” He put his hands gently to either side of Alec’s face. “Which is not at all.”

“So what do we do?” Alec whispered.

Magnus shrugged, and smiled suddenly; with his messy black hair and the gleam in his gold-green eyes, he looked like a mischevious teenager. “What everyone does,” he replied. “Like you said. Hope.” 

Leave a Reply

