It’s not very often that I will recommend a film over the book it is based on. However this is one of those absurd times. I’ve spent the last three days reading The Road by Cormac McCarthy. Upon buying the book, once again, from my local charity shop because no one really reads around here, I was really excited. The Road is the best apocalyptic film I’ve ever seen and as books are always supposed to be better, I was expecting big things.

Image
Unfortunately, the book didn’t provoke the same emotional response from me at all. The anonymity of all the characters involved just meant I was extremely detached as a reader. There wasn’t a single point at which they became characters I cared for. The style is far too simplistic and the dialogue was pretty empty of meaning. I’m sure that somewhere in my criticisms, others will find the sheer beauty of the book. For me, it just didn’t happen. I also tried to read No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy and gave up after the first fifty pages. I guess I just don’t like the style of writing.

I definitely recommend the motion picture of the book instead, I promise you it won’t leave you feeling as deflated and irritated as I do right now.

4 thoughts on “

  1. Ah I didn’t realise it was this book we were speaking about, sorry! Yeah, I really really didn’t enjoy it, thought the movie was fantastic though. Made this purchase in a charity shop so I don’t feel too bad about it.

Leave a Reply

