Tantrums over turntables.

I popped into the British Heart Foundation shop on my way home. Without any consideration, I’ve spent 50 quid on a record player/turntable/whatever they are called. This is my Goldring G101/2 turntable unit. It spins as it should and that’s all I know. The whole unit is redundant without an amplifier. I, typically, have no idea what an amplifier is meant to do.

image

I searched on the internet last night for turntables and inevitably there was a vast array of choice, too much choice, far too  confusing. I decided I must have a record player as soon as possible, managing to put myself in as much confusion sat in the living room as I was when searching the web last night.

I wish I could call this an impulse buy, however, I’ve considered collecting vinyls for some time now. This is more of an impatient buy. I wanted something and I wanted it now. This is typical behaviour from me, particularly when it comes to music. I’m exactly the same in terms of gig tickets and merchandise, regardless of whether I need it or can afford it.

Consideration turned into commitment yesterday as I found a Chuck Ragan album on vinyl with a beautiful case. Absolutely not something I could have walked away from. It really didn’t make much sense to buy a record before the player, but acting on my wants is very rarely logical anyway.

Now I’m sat with a turntable I can’t use and I have no idea how to get an amp to get it to work. The logical response would be, take it back, say it doesn’t work, get a refund.

Only this turntable/player has an element that I just can’t help but be attached to. This player is older than I am, nearly double my age in fact. The aesthetic quality is wonderful, with only a few scratches on the woodwork. More than anything I want to hear it’s sound. I want to know how music sounded to my Mom when she was young. (albeit, she was two when this specific model was purchased, but she raves about vinyl.) I also don’t want a piece of history to be sat on a shelf, or even worse, be put in the bin if I have the chance to make it work, if I get the chance to keep a piece of history with me.

image

Maybe a couple danced along to their favourite song being played on this thing, maybe it belonged to an alcoholic who played the same record repetitively, maybe, well, maybe anything.

Maybe (hopefully) I wont have to take this back to its shelf. Maybe I’ll be able to make it work and maybe (hopefully) I’ll get to listen to this;

image

11 thoughts on “Tantrums over turntables.

  1. Check your local Freecycle site online and put in an ask for a hifi separates amp. You may also need speakers? We had these gathering dust in our attic for years – you may well get lucky 🙂

    • Ooo thank you for this. Available in the UK? Really beginning to regret the buy! I will indeed need speakers. Have no idea how I’ll get it to work, there’s only one cable on this thing other than the plug! Serves me right for rush buying!

  2. The cable should link it to the amp. Yup, plenty in UK had these with amp and speakers. If you can source the bits you need you can Google how to connect.Hope you get lucky finding a pre loved one.

  3. Hey I just bought the same turntable as you..it has a 5 pin DIN plug to connect to an amp..you will need an adaptor..feel free to ask me any further questions here (I am audio obsessive with 30 years experience buying selling and installing record decks…)

    • Oh really!? You may just be my hero. My turntable has been sat under my partners bed since this post, I’ve been looking into buying new ones.

      Do I need an adaptor and then an amp? Or just an adaptor? I honestly have no clue what to do with it

  4. The adaptor is in two parts, this:

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5-PIN-DIN-MALE-PLUG-to-TWIN-2x-RCA-PHONO-FEMALE-SOCKETS-/330953602060

    and this

    http://www.kenable.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=5350&gclid=CKuSupXYr7kCFQbJtAody28AnA

    to enable you to connect the lead from the record player

    you will then need the connecting lead from the 2 separate phono sockets to plug into your adaptor, something like this:

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Twin-Phono-2-RCA-to-2-RCA-Plug-Audio-Lead-OFC-Cable-1m-/220291916478?pt=UK_Computing_Sound_Vision_Audio_Cables_Adapters&hash=item334a6be2be

    So that is 3 items to get the means to connect to an amplifier!V (because the record player uses and archaic DIN connector)

    You then need an amplifier capable of connection to the record deck! and speakers connected by wires from the amp!

    Do you live anywhere near Richer Sounds???

    http://www.richersounds.com/storefinder

    They will sell you the amp and speakers you need as cheaply as possible, plus they are very good at explaining how things go together (no I don’t work for them)…their website has advice on hi fi

    I found your page by googling GOLDRING G101! these are hard to find in working order so you have done well

    Cheers
    Robert

  5. OK, this is what you do

    1. Connect the 5 pin din from your record deck into the female adaptor (I am assuming this is a male 5 pin socket on your record deck – am I righy)

    2. Connect the 5 din male to 2 phono females to the above

    3. Connect your double ended phono wire to the phono female connections (This is very sexist but this is how they are described)

    —–

    then connect the long double ended phono wire to the amplifier

    The amplifier MUST have a phono input or you will get no sound!

    Does this make sense??????

  6. Hope so. IF the record player is in OK condition i.e.it turns round in a regular way, the needle on the cartridge isn’t too worn out…
    You may need a new rubber belt connecting the motor to the platter but see what happens when you get connected.
    Don’t give up on this….vinyl records properly played sound incredible compared to anything else!

    My current main home set up cost £14,000 but great things can be done for a lot less!

Leave a Reply

