I’m hairy and that’s okay.

When I was in a science lesson at school, a boy called Troy lifted up my fringe and shouted to the whole of 7W that I had a unibrow. What Troy didn’t know is that I also have hairy feet. And a hairy stomach. Oh, and a moustache. I have to prune – a lot. My eyebrow alone needs to be maintained every single day (not that I do it.)

I used to get bullied at school because I’m hairy – so one day I decided to do something about it. I shaved everything. My feet, my stomach, my arms and the middle of my eyebrow. I was 14 when I carried out that laborious task. I am still paying for it to this day in some respects. The centre of my unibrow still grows back as thick stubble.

My unibrow and I.

My unibrow and I.

Today I rediscovered that grown women are still bullied for being hairy.

I found a story about ‘the hairy leg movement’ on my Facebook earlier – and even though it’s Facebook – I’m still shocked at how narrow minded and negative some of the comments are.

I would much rather walk around showing my naturally very hairy legs (it would make my life a million times easier) than be one of those people making degrading comments. For each person who expressed something along the lines of ‘ew’ and ‘disgusting,’ I rolled my eyes. But, as I read on, I began to take it personally – because I am human, a woman and I am naturally really hairy.

hairy leg(Read the story here)

It truly is a shame that people of both genders are reacting in such a bombastically negative way. It’s almost hilarious that they fail to see that their negative comments are a result of social conditioning. We have literally been brainwashed into believing that the female body should be a certain way. In this instance, hairless. (Although we could all name a million other examples.)

The older I get, the less frequently I shave my legs. I don’t always shave above my knees. (Hideous, I know.) While I couldn’t bring myself to leave my hair to the extent women of the Hairy Leg Club have, I really admire them. I care less and less that I’m walking around town with stubbly legs – which I get practically eight hours after shaving my legs anyway. And it’s not because I don’t care for or about myself, it’s just that I couldn’t give a shit if society doesn’t like stubble. At least I got to sleep in that day instead of getting up early to shave.

e-card
A woman has a right not to remove her body hair because it’s her body. Not yours. And not society’s either. As a hairy girl, I’m thrilled that there’s a group of women refusing to waste the time and money on hair removal methods. I feel like somebody is standing up for my own complaints. In keeping their body hair where it’s meant to be, women are telling whoever made up such a “removal rule” to shove it up their own, probably hairy, arse.

As a dark haired female who gets five o’clock shadow on her legs at nine a.m, after shaving at seven a.m – I am massively in favour of the hairy leg movement. I want to thank those ladies. Because seriously, who can be arsed to shave every day of their life anyway?

 

2 thoughts on “I’m hairy and that’s okay.

  1. Yeah girl! Congratulations on your self-acceptance:) I’m also really happy with finding WANG. I decided to stop shaving a little over a week ago.

Leave a Reply

