Five benefits of working from home

Earlier this afternoon, I opted to work from home for personal reasons. I’m often envious of colleagues who get to WFH quite frequently, in the same way I’m envious of those who get to go out on business trips to visit clients. I’m not a big fan of an office environment, despite enjoying being an editor of online content. I am big fan of the idea that everybody should get to set their calendar to ‘WFH’ – even if it’s just once a month. Here’s why:

office
1. Productivity.
Let’s not beat around the bush. Does an office environment really enable you to get all of your shit done? I can’t explain how fulfilling it was to complete my to-do list, in less than an 8 hour day and know that I don’t have anything rolling over another day, ultimately meaning I can leave the office on time tomorrow.

Without impromptu meetings, other people pulling me onto their tasks and generally being less distracted, I’ve probably been 500% more productive.

2. Communicating with colleagues.
Today I had to stand up for myself. While doing it through email may indeed make me a keyboard warrior, I have a tendency to be a push over in person, so wouldn’t have said no to my colleague. Today I got to say that “no means no”, instead of “I’ll fit it into my calendar amongst everything else you’ve asked me to do”.

That meant I could focus on my priority work rather than building up a sub to-do list. It links straight back to productivity.

3. Less moaning.
This post, as always, is probably an implicit moaning session. In highlighting five great benefits of working from home, I’m highlighting five unhealthy things about working in an office. Being at home means being with my parents and while they are interested in my job, they are definitely not interested in any complaints I have about copy being incorrect. As I haven’t really moaned today, I don’t feel so negative towards my job tonight.

4. A wild brother appears.
I return home from the office between six and half six. My 15 year old brother has long been in his ‘staying in my room to shout profanities at the xbox’ stage. Some weeks, I can go days without seeing him. Today we had an actual conversation and properly caught up – all over a cup of tea he had made for me, with sympathies. Don’t underestimate the simple fulfilment that comes from asking how your sibling’s day at school went. It’s nice to know they’re doing alright (and that they are, despite your concerns, still alive).

5. Work you enjoy isn’t actually work.
For what feels like the first time in far too long, I actually enjoyed my job. While I’m still recuperating, I got to spend this afternoon working in an environment that doesn’t make me feel stressed or pressured. I played my favourite albums at a volume of my choice, sat around in my Star Wars leggings (that I wouldn’t dream of wearing to work) and didn’t have to concern myself with or consider anyone else. I just got my head down, focused on putting content together and actually found it fairly enjoyable. I’m pretty sure you can’t find me saying the same thing while walking out of the office at 5pm every day.

3 thoughts on “Five benefits of working from home

  1. Businesses that do not actively encourage home working/flexi-time are actually costing themselves money in the long. Research shows time and again that employees working from home are more productive, do longer hours and take less sick leave than their office-bound colleagues. I particularly like this quote which surfaced after Yahoo decided to end their remote-working scheme:

    “Properly managed telecommuters are more productive than their in-office-full-time compadres. Telecommuters come in to the office when togetherness is necessary, work at home or elsewhere when togetherness is an impediment. They tend to be better organized and focused than their in-office colleagues. They are more loyal to their employers, take less sick leave and are less stressed. That has been proven repeatedly over the years.” – Jack Nilles

    I have always hated the panopticon-like environment of open plan offices, finding them extremely counterproductive. As much as I like the people you work with, I work a lot better in solitude, sat in my little corner in Essex! I don’t think I could ever go back to working in a “real” office!

    The fact that flex-working offers benefits for employers and employees underscores the stupidity of businesses that fail to embrace the option wholeheartedly.

  2. I agree with this for the most part! I do think that working from home could increase the hours you spend working. If you don’t have a home office or something to step away from you could end up working all night!

Leave a Reply

