Book tag: Unpopular Opinions

In order to better my own blog, I’ve been spending a lot of time reading posts by other book bloggers. Stumbling across adventuresofabibliophile, I thought their ‘Unpopular Opinions’ post was really refreshing. I’ve always avoided giving negative views, but this book tag may mark the change of honesty across my blog, so in a baby step, here are my unpopular opinions – even if they are a few months behind.

opinion blog1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like. 
Harry Potter.
I just didn’t get into it. I’m not sure if I started reading the series a delayed time after my peers, but I just didn’t ‘get the hype’. I still don’t really. I didn’t dislike the series strongly, but I certainly don’t like it as much as the average person seems to. Despite the general consensus of raving love for the Harry Potter series, I’ve read each book once and wouldn’t be surprised if I never pick them up again.

2. A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love. 
Twilight.
I am completely unashamed, but I just really invested in the saga. From constantly rereading the second instalment, New Moon, to attending the midnight showing on the final film, I really loved it. Unfortunately, by the time the second instalment of the film finale came out, Twilight became so overdone that I lost interest in the franchise. I’d be more than happy to reread the saga all over again sometime soon though. No, it’s not great literature, but it’s fantastical, easy on the mind and calls for your allegiance to particular characters.

3. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for. 
Horror.
My favourite thing about reading is snuggling down last thing at night, with a cup of peppermint tea and maybe a snack. It’s cold, quiet and it’s even better if there’s rain lashing down on my window. This kind of setting is all wrong to read a horror in. I enjoy books that keep me turning the pages, rather than preventing me from reading due to a fear of what comes next.

4. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.
Jay Gatsby.
I won’t spoil this too much as I’ll be writing a review, but all I can ask is what is so great about the ‘Great’ Gatsby?  I honestly thought the character build up and presence was  overrated, bland and unconvincing.

5. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.
Stephen King.
Despite writing horrors, I thought I’d settle in to Stephen King as I love sci-fi and fantasy. However, I find his narratives long and tedious, which simply eliminates any possibility for the suspense he is so well known for.

6. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (“Lost Princess”, Corrupt Ruler, Love Triangles, etc)
Incest – or implied incest.
From Clary and Jace in The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, right through to George R.R Martin’s Jaime and Cersei, it’s awkward and unnecessary. Even if it helps to build the plot or indicate the heritage of characters, I just find the incest trope really uncomfortable.

7. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.
The Vampire Diaries.
After Twilight, it felt like the literary world went vampire/supernatural/angel/werewolf crazy. I’ve read a few good books/series, including Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush Hush and the House of Night series by P. C. Cast and her daughter Kristin Cast, but  L. J. Smith’s The Vampire Diaries just doesn’t hold the same appeal at all.

8. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie.” But what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?
The Road.
The Road by Cormac McCarthy really pains me as a reader. Dry, broken and, at times, extremely confusing, I didn’t enjoy it at all. My experience of it has put me off reading Cormac McCarthy’s work in the future. However, its film directed by John Hillcoat is nothing short of beautiful. It brings the realism of the post-apocalyptic survival to life, as well as capturing the precious relationship between father and son. Far more impressive and emotionally compelling than the book.

If there are any opinions you really disagree with, it’d be good to hear what your thoughts are and why.

3 thoughts on “Book tag: Unpopular Opinions

    • I know, I know! I will admit I really like Order of the Phoenix, but otherwise I just don’t get the big deal. I think I missed out on growing up with it, I wonder if I read it as an adult if I’d enjoy it more.

      So glad somebody else likes Twilight! I think it gets a lot of stick it doesn’t deserve

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 10/20/15 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

